Catching up

Well,I guess I have some catching up to do.When I started this blog I didn’t realise the biggest challenge would be keeping up with all the stuff that I want to say.So get ready for all the random bits and bobs that have been going on lately.Grab a seat,a cup of tea or coffee or wine(everything is always better with wine).

Toen ik mijn blog begon,had ik geen idee dat  waar ik mee bezig ben en wat mij bezig houdt het moeilijkst zou blijken,dus ik heb het een en ander in te halen.Neem een stoel,een tas koffie,thee of een glas wijn(alles is altijd beter met een glaasje wijn) en zet je telefoon op stil.
First up,I finally finished the second pair of overalls for my friend,denim this time.Used the same pattern with a bit of design alterations and loads of topstitching.I had a bit of help from this tutorial and it worked like a charm.I already have request for several pairs but friendly declined.A girl’s gotta get the chance to fill her own wardrobe too,am I right?

IMAG0330 IMAG0328 IMAG0326

Eerst wil ik graag de tweede versie laten zien van de overalls die ik maakte voor een vriend,in denim deze keer.Ik gebruikte hetzelfde patroon met een aantal nieuwe details waaronder veel siernaden(daarvoor had ik hulp van deze tip).Ondertussen wil iedereen een versie,waarvoor ik vriendelijk maar resoluut heb bedankt.Een meisje moet toch de tijd hebben om haar eigen kast te vullen,niet?

IMAG0337 IMAG0336 IMAG0335

Wich brings me to the next topic.Last week I read this post about the cost of handmade items.This lady  talks about how it is that people who buy handmade stuff expect to get this at a cheaper price “because it is handmade” and “I don’t have a big budget but I need to be able to buy this”.Hourly rates go for the average of €9 an hour,not a meager €2 so how do you expect to cover the cost of materials,education and machines.Why is it that higher educated people can ask a high price for their services and a piece that has numerous hours of love and devotion has to be cheap so that everybody can afford it.If I cannot afford an expensive laptop,I’m not gonna ask the manufacturer to make me a better price.We spend millions on campaigns to make people aware about the true costs of clothing and how little goes to the people who make them and still we do the same to people who choose to make quality and not quantity and cannot ask for fair prices “cause for that money I can buy it in the store and even get a discount”.I choose not to make these things for others,except when I want to and then I consider this a gift,I do not have to receive any payment(just eternal love and gratitude ;-)).What I am going to do is ,or at last least make an attempt,is when I start a new project I will try to measure the costs(material and hours of labour) to at least have an idea of the true value of my wardrobe.What do you think?

Wat naadloos aansluit bij het volgende onderwerp.Afgelopen week las ik op de facebookgroep de post van Katia Smits over een eerlijke prijs voor handwerk.Ze vertelt onder meer dat het blijkbaar niet kan dat iemand die zijn hart en ziel in een stuk legt,daar dan ook nog een behoorlijke prijs voor mag vragen en iemand die hoog opgeleid is dat blijkbaar wel mag.Waarom zouden wij de kosten die wij hebben gemaakt naar opleiding enz. niet mogen meerekenen?Ik kies ervoor om niets voor anderen te maken en wanneer ik dat wel doe,hoef ik daar ook niets voor terug.Dat is mijn tijd die je krijgt en daar kan en wil ik eigenlijk geen prijs opplakken(ik verwacht enkel eeuwige dankbaarheid ;-))).Ik wil wel graag eens de moeite nemen om bij de volgende dingen die ik voor mezelf maak de kostprijs te berekenen(materialen en uren werk) zodat ik minstens weet hoeveel mijn garderobe waard is.Wat denken jullie hiervan?

For those of you who remember,last year I participated in Sew it up.The competition is back and it is in it’s second week so if you haven’t voted yet you can still give your support to the contestants.Last year I was the first to exit the competition,but this year the contestant get to stay for the entire competition and the winner will be the one with the highest score.This way everyone has a chance to get back in the game after a not so great week.Take a peek and start voting! I know I have a favourite,do you??

cropped-960-op-250

Vorig jaar deed ik mee met de Sew It Up wedstrijd en dit jaar is de derde editie alweer begonnen.De eerste opdracht is al achter de rug maar het is nog niet te laat om mee te stemmen.Vorig jaar was ik degene die als eerste de wedstrijd moest verlaten maar dit jaar blijven alle kandidaten tot de laatste opdracht meedoen,degene met de hoogste score wint.Als je dan een mindere week hebt,kan je het toch nog goedmaken.Ga eens kijken en stem!Ik heb alvast een favoriet en jij??

The Fabric Sales webshop is up and running.My favourite place to shop designer remnants were forced to vacate their warehouse so in person sales are stopped until further notice,but they did open up a webshop.Go and visit them if you like high quality fabrics for a reasonable price,cheap they are not but hey,remember what I said earlier?

De online shop van The Fabric Sales is een feit.Mijn favoriet adresje om kwaliteitsstoffen te kopen heeft helaas de bakstenen deuren moeten sluiten tot nader order maar je kan nu wel online shoppen.Als je houdt van supermooie designerstoffen voor een redelijk prijs,ga dan gerust eens kijken.Ze zijn niet echt goedkoop maar ja,denk aan wat ik daarstraks zei.

For people who like to communicate to likeminded folks there is a new platform online:The Fold Line.This platform unites people who have similar interests,you can join groups,follow individuals,show off your makes and see what’s happening in the pattern department.Last time I checked there isn’t a Belgian or Flemmisch group,maybe that needs to be arranged.I hope this community will grow and be full of people who,like me,have a crazy fabric addiction!

Voor de dames(en heren) onder ons die niet genoeg krijgen van alles wat met naald en draad te maken heeft,is er sinds kort een nieuw online platform :The Fold Line.Hier komen mensen samen die dezelfde interesses delen,je kan groepen volgen,leden volgen,gemaakte dingen showen en op de hoogte blijven van wat er nieuw is op het patronen front.De laatste keer was er nog geen Belgische of Vlaamse groep maar dat kan geregeld worden.Ik hoop dat deze gemeenschap verder kan groeien met meer madammen die,zoals ik,zot zijn van stofkes!

That’s all for now,

Dat was het tot hiertoe,

Later XXXX

P.S. Anyone joining the #bpSewvember photo challenge?

P.S. Doen jullie mee met de #bpSewvember foto challenge?

Leave a Reply

