To knit or not to knit

knitting

First up, a confession.It has been years since I have knitted and although the internet has been drowning in knitted  garments and accessories,I have resisted for a very long time.Thinking back to my childhood years, where I spent what felt like ages,and struggling with every single stitch,you can imagine it took a great effort to jump back on board.Last year I finally gave in and knitted a very cute long scarf with attached hood.Soft yarn,big needles,it was a succes.So when I stumbled upon a colourful yarn,exactly my colourpalette,I didn’t hesitate and bought a bunch of it.I dreamed of a sweater in all these different colours and got knitting.Some easypeasy pattern that didn’t involve too many thinking would be my goal.Ofcourse I didn’t care about a test gauge,eager as I was.I finished my sweater and it was big!I don’t mean trendy oversized,but trucksize HUGE!!!Don’t think I’ll be wearing that,no thank you.Into the bin it went,no second chances here.

Ik moet iets toegeven,ik heb in geen jaren een breinaald vastgenomen en hoewel het internet overspoeld wordt door brei-en haakwerkjes ben ik er zeer lang in geslaagd om te weerstaan aan drang om mee te doen.Als ik terugdenk aan mijn schooltijd,waar ik eeuwen deed over een simpel werkje en moeite had met elke steek,kan je begrijpen dat ik niet echt stond te springen om een breiwerkje te beginnen.Vorige winter heb ik alle moed bijeen geraapt en heb ik een sjaal gebreid met een muts in een superzachte wol en dikke naalden.Het was een succes!Dus toen ik een supermooie wol tegenkwam in een prachtig kleurpalet,kon ik niet langer weerstaan.Dromend van een simpele trui waarin die kleuren perfect zouden uitkomen ging ik meteen aan de slag.Tuurlijk geen test gedaan want hey,wat kon er nu misgaan.Om het kort te zeggen,het was een ramp!Mijn trui was véél te groot,niet trendy oversized maar zo groot dat mijn zoon erbij in kon!!!Weinig kans dat je mijn erin gaat zien,dank je wel,recht de vuilbak in!

I felt defeated and disappointed and gave up.Until this spring and I found the remaining yarn of my sweater and gave it another go.I picked a short sleeveless pullover model out of the Burda knitting magazine and got back into knitting mode.Unfortunatly,my shoulder started protesting again,this is an ever recurring problem I have,so I decided to put it away again.

De breigoden hadden me verslagen en ik gaf het op.Tot ik vorige lente de overschot van mijn breiwol tegenkwam en ik vond dat ik een revanche verdiende.Ik koos een pullover modelletje uit het Burda breimagazine en begon terug vol goede moed.Helaas duurde het niet lang want mijn schouder begon terug op te spelen.Dit is iets waar ik regelmatig last van heb en breien doet daar blijkbaar geen goed aan,dus maar weer weggelegd.

Back in September,I happened to go on a shopping trip with a childhood friend of mine,and she was accompanied by a friend of hers who is very much into knitting.She mentioned there is a difference in knitting methods.There is the European Method,the one we were taught in school and where you take your yarn in the right hand,and the Continental Method,where you take the yarn in your left hand.She claimed the latter is much bettter and doesn’t cause as much strain on the shoulders and wrists.I forgot about it for a while,until I went through my UFO basket and found my almost finished first half of the pullover.

In September had ik een dagje uit gepland met een schoolvriendin en zij was vergezeld van nog een vriendin die veel verstand heeft van breien.Zij vertelde me over een andere breitechniek dan de onze,nl. Continental breien,en die zou ergonomisch beter zijn.Bij de techniek die ik leerde heb je de draad in je rechterhand,bij de andere neem je de draad in je linkerhand en beweeg je de schouders minder.Ik was het al bijna vergeten tot ik mijn halve pullover in de UFO mand tegenkwam.

With the help of my friend Google and numerous tutorials later I decided to give this Continental Knitting a go.You can take your knitting with you wherever you go,while a sewing machine might be a bit odd.I fiddled around at first,but quickly got the hang of it.Now,after a few months,I LOVE IT!No shoulderpain,no neckproblems,well at least not from knitting that is.I finished the second half of my pullover and….. well,it’s finished.I don’t hate it and it fits but when I’m wearing it it’s looks a bit twisted.Probably because of mt knitting method changed during the completion of this UFO.So,I’m still deciding if I’ll keep it and wear it every now and then,or maybe hang on to it just to see it’s colours.It’s also a pain to photgraph,the colours are much nicer in real life!

IMAG0717

Met de hulp van onze vriend Google en ontelbare tutorials later wilde ik het nog eens proberen.Briewerkjes kan je overal mee naartoe zeulen, met een naaimachine is dat een beetje raar.Het was een beetje foefelen in het begin,maar het went snel en na een paar maanden ben ik er helemaal weg van!Geen schouderproblemen en geen nekpijn,toch niet van het breien tenminste.De tweede helft van mijn pullover werd afgewerkt en….mijn pullover is af,niets meer,niets minder.Hij past en ik vind hem niet slecht maar ik word er niet wild van.Als ik hem draag heeft hij de neiging om te gaan draaien,waarschijnlijk door het feit dat ik van breimethode gewisseld terwijl hij nog niet klaar was.Ik ga hem nog niet weggooien,misschien hou ik hem wel om de kleuren te bewonderen.Zoals je kan zien is het ook bijna onmogelijk om een mooie foto te maken waar de kleuren tot zijn recht komen.

On to better stuff then!This was the reason I picked up my needles again:the Miette Cardigan.Ever since I laid my eyes on Lauren’s Miette,it kept hovering in my mind.Could I pull this off?Should I give it a try,and maybe get disappointed again about the result?

Op naar beter nieuws!Dit was de reden waarom ik absoluut terug wilde breien:de Miette cardigan.Ik werd verliefd op dit model door Lauren en ik kon het niet uit mijn hoofd krijgen.Zou ik dit kunnen?Zou het niet weer tegenzitten en weer teleurgesteld zijn met het resultaat?

One day I went into my local Veritas shop and my eye caught this packet of red yarn,7 euro’s for 10 skeins,that’s a steal!This was the exact color I wanted for my Miette and the right thickness,this baby is coming home with me.I made a gauge  and everything was spot on,yay me!!

IMAG0956

Op een dag in de lokale Veritas viel mijn oog op een pakket met rode wol,7 euro voor 10 bollen,wat een koopje!Dit was de kleur die ik wilde voor mijn Miette en de juiste garendikte,dit kon ik echt niet laten liggen.Deze keer deed ik een testlapje en alles was perfect!!

I chose the Medium size and got to it.The instructions are in english,but translating wasn’t a big problem and this is a very well written pattern to follow.It does help that a bunch of bloggers before me have made their version of this pattern,so if you do get stuck,there’s loads of info online to be found.

IMAG0890

Ik koos de Medium en begon eraan.De instructies zijn in het Engels maar laat dat je niet tegenhouden.Dit is een zeer goed geschreven patroon en gemakkelijk tevolgen.Dit is geen nieuw patroon en massa’s bloggers hebben hem al gemaakt,dus als je het even niet meer weet,vind je schatten aan info op het net.

I did decide to lenghten the bodice once,I didn’t want it to end just under my bust.Normally I do a FBA on everything I sew,but since this is a knitted garment I thought it would stretch enough.It does and I’m very happy with the result.I sewed on some vintage looking red end white buttons and i have a fabulous looking red cardigan in my wardrobe.There are some minor flaws in my knitwork but I’m hoping no one will notice but me.

IMAG0955

Ik koos er wel voor om het lijfje een keer te verlengen omdat ik niet wilde dat de cardigan net onder mijn borsten zou stoppen.Normaal gezien doe ik bij al mijn naaipatronen een FBA,maar ik gokte dat dit niet nodig zou zijn bij het breien.Ik had gelijk en ik ben heel blij met het resultaat.Ik maakte hem af met enkele rode knoppen met vintage look en ik heb nu een supermooie rode cardigan in mijn kleerkast!Er zijn wel enkele schoonheidsfoutjes,maar ik hoop dat het niemand opvalt.

IMAG0954

So,what about you,have you been knitting anything lately???

Zijn jullie al mee met de breitrend en waar zijn jullie mee bezig??

2 thoughts on “To knit or not to knit

Leave a Reply

