The Tailored Skirt

Some of you may have read in my previous post,about my goals for 2015.I have ventured in unknown territory namely the world of tailors.After browsing around on the Cutter and Tailor forum for a while I finally had the nerve to begin with my very first tailored draft.I have tried this before and the result wasn’t unsatisfying,but it wasn’t a perfect draft either.

Jullie hebben misschien al gelezen in mijn vorige post wat mijn doel is voor 2015.Ik heb een onbekende weg ingeslagen,namelijk de kleermakersstiel.Na een onnoemelijk aantal uren gespendeerd te hebben op het Cutter and Tailor forum,heb ik al mijn moed samengeraapt en begonnen met mijn allereerste patroon.Ik heb al eens een patroon getekend maar niet op deze manier.Het resultaat was zeker niet slecht maar het was ook verre van perfect.

You are advised to start simple with a straight skirt,so that was exactly what I did.

Hier adviseren ze je om eenvoudig te starten met een rechte rok,dus dat ging het worden.

When you are going to draft a pattern for yourself you need to be brutally honest in taking measurements and analysing your figure.I’ve had my husband take my measurements a year or two ago and decided I probably could do with taking them again so I asked a good friend of mine to take them again.

Wanneer je een perfect patroon wil voor jezelf,moet je allereerst een realistisch beeld hebben van je figuur en een heel goede maatopname.Mijn wederhelft heeft dit voor mij ooit gedaan,maar aangezien dat al een tijdje geleden was en mijn lijf niet echt meer hetzelfde is,heb ik een goede vriendin ingeschakeld.

I know everybody tells you that sewing for yourself is the last thing you should be starting with,but let’s be honest…how many teenage boys and adult men do you know who like to wear a skirt???Not mine,that’s for sure.To do a very accurate figure analysis I find it helpful to have someone take pictures of you.They don’t have to be the best pictures of you(nobody but you needs to see them),but make sure you get pics from every side and head to toe,preferably with figurehugging clothing or underwear.That way you get to study how you stand,do you have a rounded back,tilted pelvis,assymetrical figure,etc…Anyway,you get the picture,right?

Iedereen zegt dat op maat gemaakte kleding maken voor jezelf naaien niet het beste is om mee te beginnen maar zeg nu zelf,hoeveel tienerjongens en volwassen mannen ken jij die graag een rok dragen???Die van mij in ieder geval niet!Om een goede figuuranalyse van jezelf te maken,vind ik het gemakkelijk om foto’s van jezelf te laten maken,liefst met nauwaansluitende kleding of ondergoed.Dat hoeven niet de beste foto’s te zijn,die zijn niet bedoeld om aan iedereen te laten zien maar zorg dat je foto’s hebt van iedere kant en van kop tot teen.Die maken het mogelijk om te observeren hoe je houding is,heb je een holle rug,asymmetrisch figuur ,….afijn je begrijpt waar ik naartoe wil.

For me that means I have a prominent seat with a forward tilted pelvis,assymetrical shoulders and a full bust.I do however have an hourglass figure with a slightly fuller waistline than ten years ago but hey….it could be worse.

In mijn geval betekent dit een welgevormde derriere,een voorovergekanteld bekken,asymmetrische schouderhoogte en een volle buste.Ik heb wel het alombegeerde zandloperfiguur met een iets vollere taille dan enkele jaren geleden maar geef toe….het kon erger.

IMAG0374[1]

After hours of reading through draft directions,I decided to draft the Rundschau prominent seat skirt draft.I used brown craft paper from AVA papersupplies and it works very good.I took all my measurements and followed the guidelines as found on the forum.

Na pagina’s en pagina’s te lezen over hoe dat patroontekenen in mekaar zit,heb ik uiteindelijk besloten om te starten met de RUNDSCHAU SKIRT DRAFT FOR PROMINENT SEAT.Ik heb mezelf een grote rol bruin papier aangeschaft bij AVA papierwaren en het is gelukt.Ik heb al mijn maten erbij genomen en overgebracht naar de tekening,exact zoals in de instructies.

IMAG0710

I traced my pattern on to the usual pattern paper and transferred them to a leftover fabric that’s been hiding in my stash for years.I really wanted a wearable muslin and I didn’t regret this decision.After all,hours of labour resulted in a perfectly wearable skirt.

Ik heb het voorlopig ontwerp overgebracht op patroonpapier en alles met kleermakerskrijt op een lap stof getekend die al eeuwen in mijn voorraad lag.Ik wilde,na al het werk dat er uiteindelijk inkruipt,wel heel graag een draagbaar pasmodel.Achteraf gezien ben ik superblij met deze beslissing.Na uren hard labeur heb ik een perfect draagbare rok.

DCIM100GOPRO

I basted everything together and it was too small!After reading the instructions again I discovered I forgot to draw the seam on my paper.Ofcourse,when you baste 1 cm inside the patternline it will be too small.So,I did it again and the 2nd time the fit was very good.Waistband was good,sideseams were nice and straight ever as well as hipline.I needed to redo the darts,made the a bit deeper and about a 1cm wider.I also moved them a bit more to the sideseam on the backpanels.

Ik heb alles eerst voorlopig in elkaar gezet en het resultaat was te krap!Grote teleurstelling en terug de instructies erbij gehaald.Ik ben vergeten de naadtoeslag bij te tekenen op mijn patroon.Als je dan,weer volgens de instructies,je rok ineen driegt met naadtoeslag wordt hij uiteraard te klein. 

IMAG0745

Constructionwise it was fairly simple ,except for the handpicked zipper.That took about three tries to get it right,but I’m pleased with it.As for the handsewing I always tried to avoid before,after some practising I find it strangely relaxing.The repeated movements are like breathing,once you get into the rythm you start to feel your body relaxing and your mind just doesn’t wander off so much.Mmmm,could this be what they calll Mindfullness???!!

Constructiegewijs was dit redelijk eenvoudig,behalve de rits die met de hand moet ingezet worden.Na drie pogingen is het gelukt,en ik ben er blij mee.Dit is een techniek die ik nog ga gebruiken.Het met de hand naaien is iets wat ik altijd vermeden heb,maar nu vind ik het vreemd genoeg ontspannend.De herhaalde bewegingen zijn een beetje zoals op de juiste manier ademen.Eens je lichaam eraan gewend is en je in het ritme komt,ontspan je en komt je hoofd tot rust.Is dit nu mindfulness???

IMAG0933

As for the handbound buttonholes,they are going to need a LOT more practicing.No way near acceptable,but I’m gonna share anyway.Behold the disaster!

Wat de handgebonden knoopsgaten betreft,daar ga ik nog HEEL VEEL op moeten oefenen.Deze is ver van acceptabel maar ik ga de foto toch delen.Ziehier de ramp!

IMAG0934

Anyways,I think I did a pretty decent job,I decided to post my final skirt on the forum and see what the professionals think.In the meantime I am practicing my basis block for shirts and tops.More on that later.

DCIM100GOPRO

In ieder geval vind ik dat ik een aardig resultaat heb geboekt.Ik ga eerstdaags mijn project op het forum posten om de mening te horen van de professionals.Ondertussen ben ik bezig met de volgende stap:een basismodel voor een hemd en topjes.Meer daarover binnenkort.

DCIM100GOPRO

How about you,have you been drafting your own patterns or do you alter the ones you buy?

Hoe zit dat bij jullie,tekenen jullie ook zelf patronen of veranderen jullie bestaande patronen?

Later!

4 thoughts on “The Tailored Skirt

  1. Congratulations on venturing into the world of tailoring and pattern drafting. Cutter and Tailor is a wonderful resource and there is much to learn. The critiquing from them can be stronger than home sewing sites but they will give you their honest opinion and make suggestions for what could be better. I look forward to seeing your next project.

    Like

  2. I have been using existing patterns and altering them, also working on a basic sloper pattern for pants. But seeing what you (and others) have come up with drafting your own patterns, I am thinking that is a better way to come up with a good fit. I recently lost a lot of weight and have lost my ” body image” and don’t really know my size anymore, and my brain hasn’t adjusted to the new body. The wearable “Muslins” are also much better than what I have been sewing up with plain muslin. It’s hard to really see what an actual garment will look like. I think I need to try some better methods. I like what your skirt turned out to be.
    Pat

    Like

    1. Thanks,I’be learned that it is much harder to start from a pattern and tweaking that ’till it fits,than it is to start from nothing and using your exact measurements.Don’t forget that patterns are made like fashion,made to fit all but never a perfect fit and NOBODY has a perfect body.

      Like

Leave a Reply

