Tailoring….the journey

So…..it’s been a while,I know.In my mind I’ve already wrote a huge amount of posts on everything that’s been going on lately.I’ve done some pattern testing,some knitting and a whole lot of thinking of where I would like to be heading with my sewing.I am way past the “beginner sewing” status and I feel I lack the knowledge to go the extra step.Eager to fill in this gap,I have been scouring the net for information to go up and beyond ,but came out rather disappointed.I don’t have the time or financial resources to take time and moneyconsuming courses and I’m also not planning of making this into a business.I just want to be able to sew clothing of a high standard finish for myself and maybe the occasional loved one.

Het is alweer een tijdje geleden,ik weet het.Maar in mijn hoofd heb ik al talloze posts geschreven over alles wat er aan de gang is.Ik heb een patroon getest,ben weer aan het breien en vooral veel nagedacht over hoe ik verder wil met mijn naaiwerk.Ik ben het beginnersstadium echt wel voorbij en voel dat ik soms de nodige kennis mis voor het betere werk.Ik heb de laatste maanden het net afgezocht naar deze kennis,maar was een beetje teleurgesteld.Ik heb noch de tijd noch de financiele middelen om tijd-en geldrovende cursussen te volgen en ik ben ook niet van plan om hiervan mijn beroep te maken.Al wat ik wil is kleding maken met een hoge afwerkingsstandaard en perfecte pasvorm voor mijzelf en misschien af en toe een familielid.

 images

As much as I love to see what the vastly growing group of sewing newbies are up to,and I certainly do not wish to affend you,I am always thinking,yeah,nice,pretty much okay,but this could fit better,that could have a better looking finish and OMG that pattern really isn’t doing here justice at all.Ladies,don’t even think my comments for myself are any better,they are worse.

Alhoewel ik met veel interesse de steeds groter wordende groep hobbynaaisters volg,en ik wil jullie vooral niet voor het hoofd stoten,ik blijf dikwijls met een gevoel zittten van oké,mooi,netjes,dit zou beter mogen afgewerkt zijn of dit model past echt niet zo voor haar figuur.Dames,denk nu niet dat ik ook maar iets minder kritisch ben voor mezelf,zo mogelijk nog meer.

In my search to go the extra step,I stumbled upon the tailoring forum,The Cutter and Tailor.People,this is the walhalla of knowhow,given by the masters of the trade.You could read for hours about armscyes,sideseams,inlays,needles and thimbles,etc….These people are the best for trying to help others learn about the somewhat secret trade that is tailoring.And they are right,to move forward I need to step back and start anew.

In mijn zoektocht ben ik eerder toevallig terecht gekomen op een kleermakersforum,The Cutter and Tailor.Mensen,dit is het walhalla van kennis,doorgegeven door vakmensen dikwijls met jaren ervaring.Hier kan je uren lezen over armuitsnijdingen,zijnaden,knoopsgaten,naalden en vingerhoeden,inleg,enz….Deze mensen hebben zich tot doel gesteld om dit ambachtelijk beroep niet verloren te laten gaan en helpen anderen de geheimen van het vak kennen.In een ding hebben ze zeker gelijk,om verder te kunnen moet ik terug en wel helemaal van nul.

images (1)

I have decided that this year will be a year of learning and forgetting everything I thought I knew.My goal for 2015 will be the perfect fitting skirt,shirt(or should I say blouse?)and pants(I believe for women they are called slacks?)Back to basics it is!

Ik heb besloten dat dit het jaar zal zijn waarin ik alles vergeet wat ik tot nu toe dacht te weten en ik met een nieuwe lei begin.Mijn doel voor 2015 is een perfect passende rok,hemd(of blouse?)en een broek.Back to basics!!!

images (2)

My next post will be all about skirtdrafting and fitting,so if you’re interested in some tech talk stay tuned!

In mijn volgende post kom je alles te weten over mijn ontdekkingstocht naar de perfecte rok,dus als de technische termen je nog niet de oren uit komen,wees welkom!

In the meantime,do have a browse around the Cutter and Tailor forum if tailoring is your thing,just be careful,next thing you know hours have gone by without noticing.Have fun!!!!

Neem ondertussen een kijkje op het Cutter and Tailor forum(weliswaar in het Engels maar voor vertaling wil ik je altijd wel een beetje helpen)maar bezint eer ge begint want voor je het weet zijn er een aantal uur voorbijgevlogen.Veel plezier!!

Later XOXO

download

4 thoughts on “Tailoring….the journey

  1. Glad to see you found Cutter and Tailor. The resources and info there are vast and I also appreciate a source that goes way beyond the beginner phase. I found the site helpful as I began drafting and wanted truly expert input.

    Like

Leave a Reply

