Delayed plans and exciting new opportunities!

cropped-960-op-250

Onder het motto “doe eens iets geks”,heb ik me in augustus ingeschreven voor de tweede editie van Sew It Up.Voor de mensen onder jullie die het nu in Keulen horen donderen,Sew It Up is een online competitie voor naaimadammen,zoals ikzelf en is vorig jaar ontsproten uit het brein van Hanne en Caroline.De wedstrijd is een Great British Sewing Bee meets Project Runway,maar dan online(of zoiets).Het leek me vorig jaar wel leuk en ik dacht,die pikken mij er toch nooit uit.Allee,stiekem hoopte ik natuurlijk van wel anders doe je niet mee.

I did a crazy thing last august,I sent in my application for the second edition of the Sew It Up competition.For those of you who are clueless,this is a sewing competition for sewing addicts,like yours truly,hosted by two lovely ladies,Hanne and Caroline.This competition is a mix between  the Great British Sewing Bee and Project Runway(or something like that),but then online.I stumbled upon this competition last year and it looked like a fun thing to do,thinking they probably wouldn’t pick me.Well,secretly I HOPED they would,otherwise there’s no point in entering,right?!

Toen augustus overging naar september,was mijn inzending al een beetje in het vergeethoekje geraakt en begon ik volop een wintergaderobe te plannen.Mijn stoffenvoorraad ondersteboven gehaald en voor de eerste keer sinds ik begon met naaien,ging ik een planning maken.Zo gezegd,zo gedaan.De kast uitgemest,nagekeken wat ik mis,inspiratie opgedaan in de nieuwe modemagazines(beetje dromen mag altijd)en ik had een goed idee wat ik ging maken voor de winter.

Then August turned September and I kinda forgot about the whole thing and since the days started to turn colder I started planning a winter wardrobe.I turned my fabric stash upside down and,for the very first time since I started sewing,I had a plan.A genuine plan!I reorganised my existing wardrobe,checked what was missing,looked for inspiration in the latest fashion magazines(a girl can dream,right) and I ended up with a fairly good idea about what to make.

Nog nooit was ik zo goed georganiseerd.Stoffen netjes nagemeten,staaltjes geknipt en opgeslagen in een schriftje en daar ging ik dan de juiste patronen bijzetten,enfin,ik was goed bezig.

Never before had I been this organised.Checked wich fabric to use,measured the stuff I had,what to buy,cut swatches and neatly pinned them in a journal.I was going to line up the pattern to the fabric ,you know what I mean and this girl was on a roll!!

Toen kreeg ik dus een mailtje van Hanne en Caroline om te zeggen dat ik geselecteerd was en of ik nog steeds wilde meedoen?Euh,effe denken…….natuurlijk wilde ik nog meedoen!!Spannend en ook een beetje griezelig vind ik het wel.Nu ja,ik heb ondertussen een kijkje genomen en mijn mede deelneemsters lijken allemaal toffe dames dus ik denk dat dit nog wel leuk kan worden.

Then an email appeared in my inbox from Hanne and Caroline,saying I was one of the six contestants and if I still wanted to do this?Ehmmmm,lemme think…………..YEAAAH,ofcourse I still wanted this!Excited and just a little freaked out,but I’m cool with this.I had a look at the other ladies and they seem like fun,so great times ahead.

Ondertussen heb ik dus mijn plannen op de lange baan geschoven en met volle moed en snelheid aan deze uitdaging begonnen.De briefing is net in onze mailbox geland en ik ben er al maar ingevlogen.De eerste opdracht wordt een outfit geïnspireerd op de jaren twintig,The Great Gatsby dus.Elke vrije minuut die ik heb zal ik spenderen aan deze wedstrijd maar ik zal wel mijn outfit plaatsen op de blog zodra het kan en mag.

Meanwhile my original plans were shoved in a corner and I went full speed ahead in this competition.I just recieved the briefing and it’s going to prove a real challenge.Our first assignment is an outfit inspired on the twenties,that means The Great Gatsby era.Every free minute I have will be spent sewing and drawing patterns for this challenge,but I promise, as soon as I can, I will post my creation on the blog.

Dus,ga gerust eens kijken op de website van Sew It Up en vergeet niet om mee te stemmen voor jouw favoriete creatie.

So,feel free to have a look on the Sew It Up website and don’t forget to give your vote to your favorite creation.

Tot Later!

See you later!

One thought on “Delayed plans and exciting new opportunities!

  1. Ik herken je verhaal volledig! Ik had net tijd gestoken in een planning voor mijn blog! 🙂 ik wou voor het eerst eens planning toevoegen en beetje veranderen! Maar voor sew it up schuif ik graag alles opzij! 🙂
    Veel succes ook he!

    Like

Leave a Reply

